2013 Excellence Award Winners


2013 Excellence Award Winners

Celebrating the Accomplishments in our Communities


The LZ Area Chamber of Commerce (LZACC) is proud to announce the award recipients for the 2013 Excellence Awards. The awards banquet was held on Saturday, January 25, 2014 at Concorde Banquets in Kildeer with 240 area business, political, and community leaders present. 


The LZACC Excellence Awards recognize achievements in the areas of business, education, government and not-for-profit organizations for their efforts to make the Lake Zurich Area a better place in which to live and work. Nominations were made by chamber members, local residents and government entities.


Congratulations to all the 2013 Excellence Nominees & Award Recipients!


Aaron Lawlor, Lake County Board Chairman, began the awards program by presenting Chamber President, Bonnie Conte with a Lake County Resolution recognizing the Chamber’s Accreditation by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.


Business of the Year
Award recipient:
Grooms Insurance Associates, Lake Zurich

Other Nominated Businesses:

Advanced Security Technologies, Lake Zurich

Barrington Bank & Trust, Barrington

Beelow’s Steakhouse, Lake Zurich

Chris Geimer Design, Lake Zurich

Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Lake Zurich

Melon Ink Screen Press | Elegant Embroidery, Lake Zurich

On Occasion Catering & Events, Lake Zurich


Chamber Volunteer of the Year

Award recipient:

Muffi Painter, Polaris Financial Services

Other Nominated Individuals:

Bonnie Conte, Avalon Salon and Day Spa

Janet Dobson, Kemper Lakes Golf Club

Chris Geimer, Chris Geimer Design

Beth Klyczek, Posthumous, Inland Bank and Trust

Laurie Wilhoit, Lake Zurich Area Chamber of Commerce


Citizen of the Year

Award recipient:

Janet Barron, Lake Zurich

Other Nominated Individuals:

Rose DePaola, Lake Zurich

Susan Dillon, Lake Zurich

Tom Gescheidle, Long Grove

Hanan Hafez, Lake Zurich

Stephanie Smith-Howard, Mundelein

Michael Talbett, Kildeer


Samuel R. Mitchel Director of the Year

Award recipient:

Janet Dobson, Kemper Lakes Golf Club

Other Nominated Individuals:

Chris Geimer, Chris Geimer Design

Ken Grooms, Grooms Insurance Associates

Justin Pathmann, Pathmann Construction Management

Claire Slattery, Mindful Mix


Educator of the Year

Award recipient:

Sherry Fisher, Lake Zurich Middle School North

Other Nominated Educators:

Kristen Krueger, Lake Zurich May Whitney Elementary School

Aaron Towne, Lake Zurich High School


President’s Award:
Chris Geimer, Chris Geimer Design